Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CIS Secondary Library: Y9 InSo Migration

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Y9 Individuals & Societies - Migration

Postcards from the Post: A, B; Essay: C, D

Find out how migrants have been treated past and present, what the major patterns of movement have been and what migrant rights are. 

Explore the push-pull factors behind migration


               the difference between labels and their impacts
               how media representations impact perspectives
               how migrants have been included over time and place.


Take action by exploring perspectives and increasing awareness of migrant issues past and present.

Click here for a link to the unit document. 

Choose from ONE of the following patterns of movement from the past under Migration Resources.

Migration Resources

Fiction suggestion

Click for more information on this title

The Night Diary by Veera Hiranandani

Call #: HIS HIRAN

Shy twelve-year-old Nisha, forced to flee her home with her Hindu family during the 1947 partition of India, tries to find her voice and make sense of the world falling apart around her by writing to her deceased Muslim mother in the pages of her diary.

 

Non-Fiction sources

The 1947 Partition Archive: Survivors and their Memories

Faith, fury and fear: The story behind one of history’s greatest mass migrations

Why the Partition of India and Pakistan still casts a long shadow over the region

THE PARTITION OF INDIA: DEMOGRAPHIC CONSEQUENCES

How the Partition of India happened – and why its effects are still felt today

TALBOT, Ian. “LEGACIES OF THE PARTITION FOR INDIA AND PAKISTAN.” Politeja, no. 59, 2019, pp. 7–25. JSTOR, https://www.jstor.org/stable/26916350. Accessed 30 Sep. 2022.

India partition: the Red Cross response to the refugee crisis

Hasan, Mushirul. "Partition: the human cost." History Today, vol. 47, no. 9, Sept. 1997, pp. 47+. Gale In Context: Middle School, link.gale.com/apps/doc/A19751462/MSIC?u=hkchis&sid=bookmark-MSIC&xid=f1bc8174. Accessed 2 Oct. 2022.

From Pakistan to India: Tracing my grandmother’s refugee journey

Why was India split into two countries? - Haimanti Roy

1947 Through The Looking Lens

Independence and Partition, 1947

India’s Partition: A History in Photos -
Warning: The following pictures may be disturbing to some viewers. Viewer discretion is advised.

Partitioned Lives: Migrants, Refugees, Citizens in India and Pakistan, 1947-65

70 years later, survivors recall the horrors of India-Pakistan partition

A Demographic Case Study of Forced Migration: The 1947 Partition of India

 

Print Book

The partition of India [Text]. (Series: Flashpoints) Call #: 954.03 KAN

Non-fiction sources

Stories of the Great Migration

Philadelphians Reflect On City's Racial Legacy

One Family’s Story of the Great Migration North

Great Migration: Finding Pictures

"African American Population: The Great Migration North." UXL Multicultural: A Comprehensive Resource on African Americans, Hispanic Americans and Native North Americans, UXL, 2003. Gale In Context: Middle School, link.gale.com/apps/doc/EJ2107200220/MSIC?u=hkchis&sid=bookmark-MSIC&xid=5dd78a35. Accessed 6 Oct. 2022.

"Great Migration, 1910–1970." Gale In Context Online Collection, Gale, 2022. Gale In Context: Middle School, link.gale.com/apps/doc/BUYLOV238215966/MSIC?u=hkchis&sid=bookmark-MSIC&xid=343403dd. Accessed 3 Oct. 2022.

Arnesen, Eric. "Black Metropolis: the great migration." Cobblestone, vol. 38, no. 1, Jan. 2017, pp. 30+. Gale In Context: Middle School, link.gale.com/apps/doc/A478639824/MSIC?u=hkchis&sid=bookmark-MSIC&xid=f85c75dc. Accessed 3 Oct. 2022.

Wilkerson, Isabel. "The road to freedom." Smithsonian, vol. 47, no. 5, Sept. 2016, pp. 38+. Gale In Context: Middle School, link.gale.com/apps/doc/A463754722/MSIC?u=hkchis&sid=bookmark-MSIC&xid=beca5873. Accessed 3 Oct. 2022.
Elder, Robert K. "The great migration: a hundred years ago, blacks in the South began trekking north in search of a better life, changing America in ways still felt today." New York Times Upfront, vol. 149, no. 4, 31 Oct. 2016, pp. 16+. Gale In Context: Middle School, link.gale.com/apps/doc/A470867974/MSIC?u=hkchis&sid=bookmark-MSIC&xid=fad1ee85. Accessed 3 Oct. 2022.

Great Migration - Primary Sources

Great Migration - History

The Long-Lasting Legacy of the Great Migration

America's Great Migrations Project

Tolnay, Stewart E. “The African American ‘Great Migration’ and Beyond.” Annual Review of Sociology, vol. 29, 2003, pp. 209–32. JSTOR, http://www.jstor.org/stable/30036966. Accessed 5 Oct. 2022.

Marks, Carole. “Black Workers and the Great Migration North.” Phylon (1960-), vol. 46, no. 2, 1985, pp. 148–61. JSTOR, https://doi.org/10.2307/274413. Accessed 5 Oct. 2022.

The African-American Migration Story

World War I and the Great Migration

DuSable to Obama | Early Chicago | The Great Migration

The Migration Series

Audio

"The Great Migration: Journey That Reshaped America." Weekend All Things Considered, 2 Oct. 2010. Gale In Context: Middle School, link.gale.com/apps/doc/A238504281/MSIC?u=hkchis&sid=bookmark-MSIC&xid=5f2859dc. Accessed 3 Oct. 2022.

 

Print books

The warmth of other suns : the epic story of America's great migration
Isabel Wilkerson. Call #: 304.8 WIL

Listen to Isabel Wilkerson discuss her book here. 

A nation under our feet : Black political struggles in the rural South, from slavery to the great migration [Text].
Call #: 975 HAH

Non-fiction sources

"Indo-Fijians." Junior Worldmark Encyclopedia of World Cultures, edited by Timothy L. Gall and Susan Bevan Gall, 2nd ed., vol. 3, UXL, 2012, pp. 184-188. Gale In Context: Middle School, link.gale.com/apps/doc/CX1931400171/MSIC?u=hkchis&sid=bookmark-MSIC&xid=c339598e. Accessed 4 Oct. 2022.

Indian Emigration Passes to Fiji, 1879-1916

Is Fiji’s ‘Little India’ facing extinction?

Banished and excluded: the Girmit of Fiji

D’Souza, Eugene J. “INDIAN INDENTURED LABOUR IN FIJI.” Proceedings of the Indian History Congress, vol. 61, 2000, pp. 1071–80. JSTOR, http://www.jstor.org/stable/44144422. Accessed 5 Oct. 2022.

Girmit.org

Indians in Mauritius and Fiji

Fiji: Slaves to rulers

Tracing The Roots Of The Indo-Fijian Community Through Indentured Routes

The Agreement and the Girmitiya

‘Not slaves but no better off’ — why govt wants ‘girmitiya’ labourers’ story taught in schools

Documenting the Lives of Girmitiyas and Their Memory-Keepers

“100-Year-Old Girmitiya Looks Back on Life.” Fiji Times, June 2009, p. 7. EBSCOhost, discovery.ebsco.com/linkprocessor/plink?id=44a11016-329b-3391-826d-1b1731c4662e.

“Children of Girmit Remember the Life.” Fiji Times, May 2009, p. 3. EBSCOhost, discovery.ebsco.com/linkprocessor/plink?id=67d7e543-069d-3b75-b416-448de10d0ccc.

“Disappearing People.” Courier Mail, The (Brisbane), Dec. 2001. EBSCOhost, discovery.ebsco.com/linkprocessor/plink?id=9a5982aa-cabe-3f8d-a390-597ce07d43b5.

 

Audio

Podcast | Girmitiya: A Saga of Indian Indentured Labourers in Fiji

 

Fiction suggestion

Click for more information on this title

Walk on Earth a stranger
Rae Carson. Call #:    HIS CARSO

Lee Westfall, a young woman with the magical ability to sense the presence of gold, must flee her home to avoid people who would abuse her powers, so when her best friend Jefferson heads out across Gold Rush-era America to stake his claim, she disguises herself as a boy and sets out on her own dangerous journey.

 

Non fiction sources

California

Benson, Sonia, et al. "California Gold Rush." UXL Encyclopedia of U.S. History, vol. 2, UXL, 2009, pp. 227-231. Gale In Context: Middle School, link.gale.com/apps/doc/CX3048900097/MSIC?u=hkchis&sid=bookmark-MSIC&xid=2161b279. Accessed 5 Oct. 2022.

Jackson, W.Turrentine, and Judith Boyce DeMark. “California Gold Rush.” Salem Press Encyclopedia, July 2021. EBSCOhost, discovery.ebsco.com/linkprocessor/plink?id=ef68910f-07c5-3505-8606-6c795506eaa3.

Robert Grayson. California’s Gold Rush. Essential Library, 2012. EBSCOhost, discovery.ebsco.com/linkprocessor/plink?id=d59d1dec-f029-35ab-a0c7-8d184af22543.

McDowell, Andrea. “Good as Gold.” History Today, vol. 72, no. 9, Sept. 2022, pp. 38–53. EBSCOhost, discovery.ebsco.com/linkprocessor/plink?id=c93feefb-20f0-38f7-bddc-7e10ed48a207.

Greene, Meg. “A `most Exotic Nationality.’.” Cobblestone, vol. 18, no. 9, Dec. 1997, p. 16. EBSCOhost, discovery.ebsco.com/linkprocessor/plink?id=cb40d995-403f-3295-9bdd-69ee8bf4973c.

"California Gold Rush." Gale Middle School Online Collection, Gale, 2021. Gale In Context: Middle Schoollink.gale.com/apps/doc/UCXOYK812863898/MSIC?u=hkchis&sid=bookmark-MSIC&xid=f4b3039c. Accessed 5 Oct. 2022.

"San Francisco and the Gold Rush." Gale Middle School Online Collection, Gale, 2017. Gale In Context: Middle School, link.gale.com/apps/doc/SUVGTM853734730/MSIC?u=hkchis&sid=bookmark-MSIC&xid=b5911736. Accessed 5 Oct. 2022.

"Documenting The History Of African-Americans In The California Gold Rush." Weekend All Things Considered, 17 Sept. 2016. Gale In Context: Middle School, link.gale.com/apps/doc/A463977808/MSIC?u=hkchis&sid=bookmark-MSIC&xid=e6841dda. Accessed 5 Oct. 2022.

Boggs, Johnny D. "Rohrbough puts French twist on the California Gold Rush: did Frenchmen really flock west in search of riches? Bien sur." Wild West, vol. 26, no. 5, Feb. 2014, p. 14. Gale In Context: Middle School, link.gale.com/apps/doc/A350793177/MSIC?u=hkchis&sid=bookmark-MSIC&xid=3e9b0e2a. Accessed 5 Oct. 2022.

Elder, Robert K. "The California gold rush: the discovery of gold 165 years ago spurred migration to the West and transformed America in ways still evident today." New York Times Upfront, vol. 145, no. 9, 28 Jan. 2013, pp. 16+. Gale In Context: Middle School, link.gale.com/apps/doc/A316663423/MSIC?u=hkchis&sid=bookmark-MSIC&xid=0743e8e6. Accessed 5 Oct. 2022.

Peterson, Richard H. "Gold! The rush for California riches." Wild West, vol. 10, no. 4, Dec. 1997, pp. 50+. Gale In Context: Middle School, link.gale.com/apps/doc/A19988185/MSIC?u=hkchis&sid=bookmark-MSIC&xid=860965f1. Accessed 5 Oct. 2022.

 

Klondike

McGill, Sara Ann. “Klondike Gold Rush.” Klondike Gold Rush, Aug. 2017, pp. 1–2. EBSCOhost, discovery.ebsco.com/linkprocessor/plink?id=4ecbb0e0-afa7-344b-8f22-66e62839cab4.

Coppock, Mike. “The Weight of Gold.” American History, vol. 54, no. 4, Oct. 2019, pp. 32–39. EBSCOhost, discovery.ebsco.com/linkprocessor/plink?id=0b41d81c-2267-3440-84ce-b6706a15e25b.

Gray, Charlotte. “Reconsidering the Gold Rush.” Canada’s History, vol. 101, no. 4, Aug. 2021, pp. 20–27. EBSCOhost, discovery.ebsco.com/linkprocessor/plink?id=a42d47bc-ea01-39d0-acbf-bc76f7c0871d.

 

Australia

Gold Rush Game

Victorian goldfields for kids

Feb 12, 1851 CE: Australian Gold Rush Begins

Gold rushes

Eureka! The rush for gold

CHINESE ON THE GOLDFIELDS

Aborigines & the gold rush

Twomey, Christina. “`Without Natural Protectors’: Responses to Wife Desertion in Gold-Rush Victoria.” Australian Historical Studies, vol. 28, no. 108, Apr. 1997, p. 22. EBSCOhost, discovery.ebsco.com/linkprocessor/plink?id=be46859f-e16a-33d5-b24e-c9cf4927d101.

 

Chinese Exclusion Act

"The Chinese Exclusion Act, limiting Chinese immigration, was passed in 1882." Read to Know, vol. 71, no. 32, 2 May 2022, p. NA. Gale In Context: Middle School, link.gale.com/apps/doc/A703377802/MSIC?u=hkchis&sid=bookmark-MSIC&xid=5ecbd7f9. Accessed 7 Oct. 2022.

Congress, U.S. "Chinese Exclusion Act, 1882 (1882)." The Immigrant Experience, Primary Source Media, 1999. American Journey. Gale In Context: Middle School, link.gale.com/apps/doc/EJ2154000105/MSIC?u=hkchis&sid=bookmark-MSIC&xid=46f3a682. Accessed 7 Oct. 2022.

Baer, James A. “Chinese Exclusion Act.” Salem Press Encyclopedia, May 2022. EBSCOhost, discovery.ebsco.com/linkprocessor/plink?id=7fd5726f-7fe3-3f7b-94bf-1ece84e86eef.

McGrath, Roger D. “The Chinese Exclusion Act.” Chronicles: A Magazine of American Culture, vol. 44, no. 7, July 2020, pp. 44–45. EBSCOhost, discovery.ebsco.com/linkprocessor/plink?id=70afcb23-10f0-39d0-b362-94e058429284.

Danver, Steven L. “An Act to Repeal the Chinese Exclusion Acts.” Defining Documents: World War II, July 2015, pp. 181–84. EBSCOhost, discovery.ebsco.com/linkprocessor/plink?id=3b8ce14e-e26a-367e-aa12-da8b0cf0b629.

Auerbach, Michael P. “ASIAN AMERICAN AFFAIRS: Chinese Exclusion Act.” Defining Documents: The American West (1836-1900), Dec. 2014, pp. 188–93. EBSCOhost, discovery.ebsco.com/linkprocessor/plink?id=f9bb758e-db8c-3151-8eda-c029ed32d60a.

Chinese Exclusion Act (1882) - National Archive

Chinese Exclusion Act - History

Chinese Exclusion Act - Washington State Historical Society 

The Chinese head tax and the Chinese Exclusion Act

As Chinese Exclusion Act Turns 135, Experts Point To Parallels Today

Chinese American Museum - Life Before Exclusion

 

 

Fiction suggestion

Click for more information on this title

Shanghai escape by Kathy Kacer.

Call #:    HIS KACER

In 1938 Lily Toufar, a young Jewish girl, escapes to Shanghai to escape the Nazi party and finds a new set of challenges.

Click for more information on this title

Someday we will fly by Rachel DeWoskin.

Call #:    HIS DEWOS

Lillia, fifteen, flees Warsaw with her father and baby sister in 1940 to try to make a new start in Shanghai, China, but the conflict grows more intense as America and Japan become involved.

 

Non fiction sources

Hong Kong

Why Jewish refugees in World War II Hong Kong endured torrid times, as new research reveals their complicated stories

ANU Museum - Jews in Hong Kong

Hong Kong Heritage Project 

More than a transit port, but less than a refuge : Hong Kong and Jewish refugee transmigration, 1938-1941

Ho Feng-Shan

Hong Kong as Entrepot: Jewish, British, and Chinese Refugees in Hong Kong (1937-1947)

JEWISH HISTORICAL SOCIETY OF HONG KONG

Video

The Jews in Shanghai and Hong Kong - A History I 在上海和香港的猶太人

Shanghai

The Chronology of the Jews of Shanghai from 1832 to the Present Day

How China saved more than 20,000 Jews during WW2

Video

An Unlikely Refuge: Surviving the Holocaust in Shanghai

Jews in Shanghai: A Home Away from Home

Shanghais Jews: Art, Architecture and Survival

【早城市】犹太难民后裔 在上海的传奇人生 | A Descendant of Jewish Refugees and Her Extraordinary Life in Shanghai

When the World Was Closed: Shanghai and the Refugee Jews of WWII

SURVIVAL IN SHANGHAI EP1: Escape to Shanghai

GERMAN AND AUSTRIAN JEWISH REFUGEES IN SHANGHAI

Shanghai's Forgotten Jewish Past

Refuge in Shanghai (1938-1953)

Europe’s Jews Found Refuge in Shanghai

Non fiction sources

Burkina Faso: Testing the Tradition of Circular Migration

Burkina Faso study shows link between land degradation and migration

Burkina Faso

Burkina Faso - Côte d'Ivoire

New Patterns of Migration in West Africa

De Longueville, Florence, et al. “Direct and Indirect Impacts of Environmental Factors on Migration in Burkina Faso: Application of Structural Equation Modelling.” Population & Environment, vol. 40, no. 4, June 2019, pp. 456–79. EBSCOhost, https://doi.org/10.1007/s11111-019-00320-x.

Gervais, Raymond R. “From Crisis to National Identity: Migration in Mutation, Burkina Faso, 1930-1960.” International Journal of African Historical Studies, vol. 33, no. 1, Feb. 2000, p. 59. EBSCOhost, https://doi.org/10.2307/220258.

Henry, Sabine, et al. “Descriptive Analysis of the Individual Migratory Pathways According to Environmental Typologies.” Population & Environment, vol. 25, no. 5, May 2004, pp. 397–422. EBSCOhost, discovery.ebsco.com/linkprocessor/plink?id=38adebb2-c371-3092-a438-8a363c0bfd4c.

Henry, Sabine, et al. “The Impact of Rainfall on the First Out-Migration: A Multi-Level Event-History Analysis in Burkina Faso.” Population & Environment, vol. 25, no. 5, May 2004, pp. 423–60. EBSCOhost, discovery.ebsco.com/linkprocessor/plink?id=59e42c77-f76d-35b5-83b2-eee7ea9ea785.

Non fiction sources

To the USA

Benson, Sonia, et al. "Italian and Greek Immigration." UXL Encyclopedia of U.S. History, vol. 4, UXL, 2009, pp. 800-803. Gale In Context: Middle School, link.gale.com/apps/doc/CX3048900318/MSIC?u=hkchis&sid=bookmark-MSIC&xid=4b9f55fa. Accessed 6 Oct. 2022.

Pozzetta, George. "Italian Americans." Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America, edited by Thomas Riggs, 3rd ed., vol. 2, Gale, 2014, pp. 505-522. Gale In Context: Middle School, link.gale.com/apps/doc/CX3273300100/MSIC?u=hkchis&sid=bookmark-MSIC&xid=3223de16. Accessed 6 Oct. 2022.

Rudolph, Laura C. "Sicilian Americans." Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America, edited by Thomas Riggs, 3rd ed., vol. 4, Gale, 2014, pp. 151-163. Gale In Context: Middle School, link.gale.com/apps/doc/CX3273300161/MSIC?u=hkchis&sid=bookmark-MSIC&xid=8a401be4. Accessed 6 Oct. 2022.

Commission on Immigration and Naturalization. "Immigration and the American Economy (1953)." The Immigrant Experience, Primary Source Media, 1999. American Journey. Gale In Context: Middle School, link.gale.com/apps/doc/EJ2154000120/MSIC?u=hkchis&sid=bookmark-MSIC&xid=1a31f75c. Accessed 6 Oct. 2022.

The Great Arrival

Italian Immigration to America and Boston’s North End

Italians

From Italy to Boston 's North End: Italian Immigration and Settlement, 1890-1910

From Emigration to Asylum Destination, Italy Navigates Shifting Migration Tides

What Sets Italian Americans Off From Other Immigrants?

To Argentina

Italian Immigration to Argentina 1880-1914: Assimilation or Rejection of Argentine Society?

To Canada

History

An Overview of Italian Canadian History

Research Databases