EE Library and Research Resources
Ms Smith
Available in-person on L3 of the Secondary Library
Available in-person on Wednesday and Friday during Extended Learning (10:35-11:45am), L3 of the Secondary Library
Email: asmith@cis.edu.hk
Schedule a meeting via Google calendar
Ms. Wong
Available in-person on L4 of the Secondary Library
Email: scwong@cis.edu.hk
Schedule a meeting via Google calendar
Search our print and ebook collection of 29,000+ titles using our online catalog.
URL : library.cis.edu.hk
Login: Use your school-issued username and password
South China Morning Post - Available on campus via school WIFI.
New York Times - Available on campus via school WIFI. Available off campus via login. Database password found here.
Financial Times - Available on campus via school WIFI. Available off campus via login. Account registration required on school WIFI. Registration instructions here.
The Economist - Email Ms. Smith or Ms. Wong with the title and author of the article you would like from the Economist. They will send you a copy of the article.
HKU has an extensive ebook and print collection that is accessible to CIS students.
Visit the online catalog first to determine if HKU has the resources you need:
URL: lib.hku.hk/
All ebooks must be accessed on the HKU campus using their WIFI.
All print books must be checked out by visiting the HKU campus.
To gain access to HKU, please visit the Secondary Library to check out an HKU Library card.
HKU Library is located in Pok Fu Lam. See location here.
URL: Click here.
You will need a HK Public Library card to check out books. You may apply for a card by visiting the HK Public Library. The process is easy and quick.
"The IB will not ban the use of AI software." Here are the parameters for use:
The in-text citation should contain quotation marks using the referencing style already in use by the school and the citation should also contain the prompt given to the AI tool and the date the AI generated the text."
Language Acquisition
Use of AI is not allowed in language acquisition.
"The exception is in language acquisition, where marks are awarded for sentence structure. In these subjects the use of such tools is not permitted.
The IB awards bilingual diplomas, and universities and schools look at the language subjects that are taken in for proof of being able to work in that language. Therefore students are not permitted to write essays in one language and then translate them to be submitted to the IB in another language. For subject other than language acquisition, the use of spell checkers and bilingual dictionaries is acceptable."
Databases
JSTOR - Click here: Available on campus via school WIFI. Available off campus via login. Database password found here. JSTOR Support page
EBSCO - Click here: Available on campus via school WIFI. Available off campus via login. Database password found here.
GALE - Click here: Available on campus via school WIFI. Available off campus via login. Database password found here.
Philosophy Now - Click here: Available on campus via school WIFI.
WiseSearch - Click here: Available on campus via school WIFI by clicking this button on the WiseSearch homepage: 
Statista - Click here: Available on campus via school WIFI.
Points of View Reference Center EBSCO
Points of View is designed to help you understand the complex nature of just about any controversial topic. It contains 372 topics, each with an overview, point, and counterpoint. These resources help you develop your own perspective on the issues, and write or debate an effective argument on the topic.
Specific collections by subject
Gale OneFile: Computer Science
Access leading business and technical publications in the computer, telecommunications, and electronics industries.
|
Gale OneFile: Economics and Theory Discover content useful for starting a business, marketing a product, developing policy, analyzing trends, and more. |
Gale in Context: Environmental Studies Understand environmental issues that affect people globally through topic overviews, journals, news, and multimedia content. |
|
Gale OneFile: Business provides full-text coverage of all business disciplines including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, as well as business theory and practice. |
|
|
Gale In Context: Global Issues Analyze important global issues and events through topic overviews, international viewpoints, news, and multimedia content. |
|
Digital Theatre+ Login using Google school credentials. For more information, please speak with a teacher from the Arts Department. |
|
Search millions of articles about drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. Diverse resource for serious fine arts students. |
|
Gale in Context: Environmental Studies Understand environmental issues that affect people globally through topic overviews, journals, news, and multimedia content. |
Gale In Context: Global Issues Analyze important global issues and events through topic overviews, international viewpoints, news, and multimedia content. |
|
History Reference Center - EBSCO This historical database features reference books, encyclopedias, non-fiction books, and history periodicals as well as thousands of historical documents, biographies of historical figures, photos, maps, and over 80 hours of historical video. |
Gale In Context: World History Uncover information on hundreds of the most significant people, events, and topics in world history from a variety of sources. |
|
Search balanced coverage of events in U.S. history. Best for novice historians and academic researchers. Updated daily. |
Access balanced coverage of events in world history and scholarly work being established in the field. |
|
An annotated guide to the most useful websites for U.S. history and social studies. |
|
Explore the most extensive compilation of literary commentary available. Includes analysis from book excerpts, periodicals, and more. |
Gale Literature Resource Center Find up-to-date biographies, overviews, full-text criticisms, audio interviews, and reviews on writers from all eras. |
|
Access literary works and authors throughout history, including full-text poems, plays, short stories, speeches, and more. |
Gale Literature: Scribner Writer Series Browse original scholarly essays on authors from around the world. Places authors and their works in personal and historical context. |
|
Gale Literature: Twayne's Author Series Find in-depth critical introductions to the lives and works of major writers. Includes influences of literary movements. |
|
French/Spanish |
Chinese Language acquisition: Subject-specific guidance Ms. Huo’s guidance: Essential: Pages 9-10; Page 63: the definition of cultural artifact |
|
Search millions of articles about drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. Diverse resource for serious fine arts students. |
|
Understand context for hundreds of science topics through overviews, journals, news, interactive experiments, and more. |
Topics covered in Science Reference Center include biology, chemistry, earth and space science, environmental science, health and medicine, life science, mathematics, physics, science and society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology, and wildlife. |
|
Manipulate 3D interactive models to visualize and understand concepts in biology, chemistry, earth, and space science. |
Access information on the latest developments across a range of scientific disciplines. Updated daily. |
|
Find authoritative periodical content supporting research in all fields of psychology. |
Search a full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to alternative medical practices. |
|
Search a full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to alternative medical practices. |
Gale Interactive: Human Anatomy Dive into interactive research with 3D models that help make human anatomy concepts easier to understand. |
|
Gale in Context: Environmental Studies Understand environmental issues that affect people globally through topic overviews, journals, news, and multimedia content. |
Gale OneFile: Environmental Studies and Policy Investigate environmental issues with diverse perspectives from the scientific community, policymakers, and corporate interests. |
|
Understand context for hundreds of science topics through overviews, journals, news, interactive experiments, and more. |
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine Find up-to-date information on a range of health care topics. Best for students, researchers, and health care professionals. |
|
Manipulate 3D interactive models to visualize and understand concepts in biology, chemistry, earth, and space science. |
Access information on the latest developments across a range of scientific disciplines. Updated daily. |
|
Better visualize and understand concepts in chemistry by exploring 3D models on the periodic table, molecules, and more. |
National Geographic Virtual Library Browse this cross-searchable platform for research insight from journalism's most trusted name in exploration and discovery. |
|
Topics covered in Science Reference Center include biology, chemistry, earth and space science, environmental science, health and medicine, life science, mathematics, physics, science and society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology, and wildlife. |
JSTOR Research Guides |
|
Gale In Context: Global Issues Analyze important global issues and events |
|
Search a full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to alternative medical practices. |
Gale Interactive: Human Anatomy Dive into interactive research with 3D models that help make human anatomy concepts easier to understand. |
|
Understand context for hundreds of science topics through overviews, journals, news, interactive experiments, and more. |
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine Find up-to-date information on a range of health care topics. Best for students, researchers, and health care professionals. |
|
Manipulate 3D interactive models to visualize and understand concepts in biology, chemistry, earth, and space science. |
Access information on the latest developments across a range of scientific disciplines. Updated daily. |
|
Topics covered in Science Reference Center include biology, chemistry, earth and space science, environmental science, health and medicine, life science, mathematics, physics, science and society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology, and wildlife. |
Gale OneFile: Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine Access academic journals and magazines covering the fields of physical therapy, physical fitness, and sports medicine. |
|
Gale Literature Resource Center Find up-to-date biographies, overviews, full-text criticisms, audio interviews, and reviews on writers from all eras. |
Explore the most extensive compilation of literary commentary available. Includes analysis from book excerpts, periodicals, and more. |
|
Digital Theatre+ Login using Google school credentials. For more information, please speak with a teacher from the Arts Department. |
Access literary works and authors throughout history, including full-text poems, plays, short stories, speeches, and more. |
|
Search millions of articles about drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. Diverse resource for serious fine arts students. |
|
Gale In Context: Global Issues Analyze important global issues and events through topic overviews, international viewpoints, news, and multimedia content. |
Search a full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to alternative medical practices. |
|
Gale in Context: Environmental Studies Understand environmental issues that affect people globally through topic overviews, journals, news, and multimedia content. |
JSTOR Research Guides |
|
Gale OneFile: Communications and Mass Media Search millions of articles covering all aspects of communications, including advertising, public relations, and more. |
Gale OneFile: Contemporary Women's Issues Find timely and historically relevant content on issues that influence women’s lives across the globe. |
|
Gale OneFile: Criminal Justice Comprehensive periodical content for researchers studying law, law enforcement, forensic science, terrorism, and more. |
Gale OneFile: Diversity Studies Access a range of periodical content to explore cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community. |
|
Discover balanced coverage of topics related to gender studies, family and marital issues, and more. |
Gale OneFile: Military and Intelligence Search scholarly journals, magazines, and reports covering all aspects of past and present military affairs. Updated daily. |
|
Gale OneFile: Pop Culture Studies Access scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture. |
Gale OneFile: Religion and Philosophy Research the impact of religion on culture throughout history, including literature, arts, and language. Updated daily. |
|
Gale OneFile: War and Terrorism Gain valuable insight into conflicts and their causes, impact, and perception on a global scale. |