LibGuides: CIS Hangzhou Library: Research Databases

This page provides access to literally thousands upon thousands of databases resources. What does that mean? Essentially, you have access to constantly updated resources, such as articles from magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals, articles from reference books, primary documents, radio and television transcripts, literature, poetry, plays, literary criticism, and groundbreaking scientific research.

.

Follow the links below to explore these subjects:

English
Sciences
Individuals and Societies (Economics, History, Geography, & Psychology)

For broader research, explore the boxes below.

A-Z List of CIS Databases: Use this link to see all of our database options.

CLICK HERE for Database Passwords

Ideal for Y7-Y9

Middle School Researcher This link opens in a new window
Created specifically for middle schoolers, this database combines reference content with age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and much more.
Explora Secondary Schools This link opens in a new window
With browsable categories, simple search bars, and topic overview, the resources in Explora for Secondary Schools is ideally suited for Y7-Y9 students. From the sciences to literature, from music to mathematics, you can find it all here.

Generalities

News (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 2,300 major world newspapers, and includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.
Entrepreneurship (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
"Provides authoritative periodical content supporting business school students and entrepreneurs seeking insights, tips, strategies and success stories."
Business (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
"Gale OneFile: Business provides full-text coverage of all business disciplines including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, as well as business theory and practice."
WiseSearch This link opens in a new window
A collection of local and regional newspapers in both Chinese and English.
On campus access only.
Gale Topic Finder
Gale Subject Search

Ideal for Y10 & Y11

High School Researcher This link opens in a new window
Resource for papers, projects, and presentations that empowers the development of critical thinking and problem solving skills with content aligned to national and state curriculum standards.
EBSCOHost This link opens in a new window
EBSCOHost features articles from newspapers, magazines, peer reviewed journals, and reference materials in an array of subject areas. For virtually any topic, one can find current, authoritative results. Especially useful for Years 10 through 13.

Debate Topics

Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Database designed to support science, social studies, current events, and language arts presents each side of important issues and empowers learners to develop information literacy and critical thinking skills.
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Points of View is designed to help you understand the complex nature of just about any controversial topic. It contains 372 topics, each with an overview, point, and counterpoint. These resources help you develop your own perspective on the issues, and write or debate an effective argument on the topic.

Philosophy Now

Ideal for IBDP

EBSCOHost This link opens in a new window
EBSCOHost features articles from newspapers, magazines, peer reviewed journals, and reference materials in an array of subject areas. For virtually any topic, one can find current, authoritative results. Especially useful for Years 10 through 13.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A collection of academic journals, letters, images, and other academic resources appropriate for IBDP students.
After logging in, you should create your own account in order to customize folders.

Watch this brief tutorial video on how to set up your JSTOR account.

Contemporary Topics

Contemporary Women's Issues (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
"Offers comprehensive coverage of issues that influence women’s lives across the globe. The database provides access to current full text and pertinent backfile content covering topics including civil rights, health, education, professional development, and entrepreneurship."
Gender Studies (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
"Offers access to scholarly journals and magazines covering topics including gender studies, family, and marital issues, LGBTQ community, and more."
Pop Culture Studies (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
"Provide access to scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture."
Religion and Philosophy (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
"Provide access to a comprehensive collection of periodical content covering topics across a wide range of philosophies and religions."
Diversity Studies (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
"Collection of journals that explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in the global community."

Research Database FAQs

What is a Research Database?

A Research Database provides access to reliable, accurate, and credible information from expert resources.

What will I find in a Research Database?

articles from magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals

articles from reference books

primary documents

radio and television transcripts

literature, poetry, plays

literary criticism

groundbreaking scientific research

and the list goes on and on…

Does a Research Database source count as a print resource?

Typically, yes. Even if you are told you “must find a print resource,” you can use the database results because the results are digitised versions of published materials. Just pay attention to the results you find.

What is different between search results in a Research Database and a search engine such as Google?

You will find information on databases that is not freely available on the web.

Anyone can publish something on the web and claim to be an expert; a database eliminates the doubt you may have about the expertise or authority of a resource.

<< Previous: Y10 Research
Next: Citing & Referencing >>

Last Updated: Aug 29, 2023 11:49 AM

URL: https://secondarylibrary.cis.edu.hk/hangzhou

Print Page

Login to LibApps

CIS Hangzhou Library: Research Databases

.

Follow the links below to explore these subjects:

English

Sciences

Individuals and Societies (Economics, History, Geography, & Psychology)

For broader research, explore the boxes below.

CLICK HERE for Database Passwords

Ideal for Y7-Y9

Generalities

Ideal for Y10 & Y11

Debate Topics

Philosophy Now

Ideal for IBDP

Contemporary Topics

Research Database FAQs