LibGuides: Y7-13 LibGuides: Y7 Animal Trafficking

The Task

As a responsible person, it is up to you to educate young teens about the use and misuse of animals by society. A large problem today is the illegal trade in animal and animal parts trafficking, your task is to research an endangered animal that is being Illegally trafficked and write an informative magazine article to raise awareness.

Assessment Details & Expectations	Website Evaluation Using RADCAB	Unsplash Copyright Free Images

Databases and Websites

WEB RESOURCES: Animal Trafficking
This is a collection of articles, websites, videos, and books curated by your CIS Librarian. This is your starting point, for sure!

Image by R. Kikuo Johnson in the New York Times article "That Python in the Pet Store? It May Have Been Snatched From the Wild"

Below are the most resourceful and helpful databases for this project. Great research habits begin and end with these resources.

CLICK HERE for Database Passwords

Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species (CITES)
The Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora (CITES) was signed in 1973 and came into force in 1975. The aim of the treaty is to prevent international trade in listed endangered or threatened animal and plant species and products made from them. CLICK HERE for Database Passwords

Environmental Studies This link opens in a new window
Gale In Context: Environmental Studies is an electronic resource that focuses on the study of sustainability and the environment. Topics include global warming, food safety, access to health care, and the impact of economic development on international relations.
Science in Context This link opens in a new window
Database designed to support science studies by providing contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics and showcase scientific disciplines that relate to real-world issues.
Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window
A database designed to support global awareness. Authoritative content empowers learners to critically analyze and understand the most important issues of the modern world.
National Geographic Virtual Library This link opens in a new window
National Geographic: People, Animals, and the World provides unlimited access to digital content that attracts, engages and informs students, educators, researchers and general readers including full-text books, magazines, videos, maps and National Geographic images. Full access from 1888 to the present day!
Middle School Researcher This link opens in a new window
Created specifically for middle schoolers, this database combines reference content with age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and much more.

Search Catalogue

How-to Videos

QuickRef

Citing & Referencing Find all of your CIS citation and referencing details here.
CIS Secondary Library
Research Paper Format
Works Cited: A Quick Guide A quick, simple overview of a Works Cited list.
Purdue OWL Self-help tips on the research process.
NoodleTools An all in one project management and bibliographic generation tool.
CIS Hong Kong Catalogue
Log in to Destiny here. You can check the status of your materials, renew items, and search the library catalog.
CIS Hangzhou Catalogue
Log in to Destiny here. You can check the status of your materials, renew items, and search the library catalog.