This page provides access to literally thousands upon thousands of databases resources. What does that mean? Well, essentially, you have access to constantly updated resources, such as articles from magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals, articles from reference books, primary documents, radio and television transcripts, literature, poetry, plays, literary criticism, groundbreaking scientific research, and, well, you get the idea.
EBSCOHost features articles from newspapers, magazines, peer reviewed journals, and reference materials in an array of subject areas. For virtually any topic, one can find current, authoritative results. Especially useful for Years 10 through 13. Username: cishk
National Geographic: People, Animals, and the World provides unlimited access to digital content that attracts, engages and informs students, educators, researchers and general readers including full-text books, magazines, videos, maps and National Geographic images. Full access from 1888 to the present day!Password: welcome
Provide students with a reliable starting point to begin their research projects with Gale Researcher. American Literature, British Literature, Criminal Justice, Economics, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, U.S. History, Western Civilization, and World History. Password: welcome
An engaging database of contextual information on the world's most influential people. Over 650,000 biographical entries cover a range of historically significant figures and present-day newsmakers. Password: welcome
Database designed to support science, social studies, current events, and language arts presents each side of important issues and empowers learners to develop information literacy and critical thinking skills. Password: welcome
Points of View is designed to help you understand the complex nature of just about any controversial topic. It contains 372 topics, each with an overview, point, and counterpoint. These resources help you develop your own perspective on the issues, and write or debate an effective argument on the topic. For remote access: Username: cishk, Password: Welcome@2018
A Research Database provides access to reliable, accurate, and credible information from expert resources.
What will I find in a Research Database?
articles from magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals
articles from reference books
radio and television transcripts
literature, poetry, plays
groundbreaking scientific research
and the list goes on and on…
Does a Research Database source count as a print resource?
Typically, yes. Even if you are told you “must find a print resource,” you can use the database results because the results are digitised versions of published materials. Just pay attention to the results you find.
What is different between search results in a Research Database and a search engine such as Google?
You will find information on databases that is not freely available on the web.
Any schmuck can publish something on the web and claim to be an expert; a database eliminates the doubt you may have about the expertise or authority of a resource.